107.5FM WCCN The Rock - The Coolest Station in the Nation
Memories 1370AM 98.5FM
98.7FM / 1450AM WDLB - Timeless Classics
Listen Live: 107.5 THE ROCK92.7 FM
Family owned radio stations serving all of Central Wisconsin


Tuesday, June 7th, 2011 -- 10:41 AM

A total of 24 State Meet Records in non-wheelchair events (as well as nine wheelchair records in the second year of competition) were set at the 2011 WIAA State Track and Field Championships including four marks on the girls side that place them atop the All-Time Honor Roll.

State Meet records were set 24 times over the weekend, although some of them were broken multiple times, resulting in a total of 19 new State Meet records. They are:

Division 1 Boys

Division 2 Boys
110-meter high hurdles: Jordan Schmidt, Kewaunee - 14.12
4x100-meter relay: West Salem - 42.48
4x200-meter relay: Winneconne - 1:27.66
Triple Jump: Ben Schreib, Martin Luther - 46-10

Division 3 Boys
200-meter dash: Fred Willis, Brookfield Academy - 21.81
4x100-meter relay: Brookfield Academy - 42.51
4x400-meter relay: Giliman - 3:23.55

Division 1 Girls
100-meter dash: Dezerea Bryant, Milwaukee Bradley Tech - 11.38
200-meter dash: Dezerea Bryant, Milwaukee Bradley Tech - 23.01
100-meter high hurdles: Elexis Fuller-Stewart, Milwaukee Bradley Tech - 13.89
4x100-meter relay: Milwaukee Bradley Tech - 46.02

Division 2 Girls
200-meter dash: Deysha Smith-Jenkins, Dominican - 24.64
3200-meter run: Allie Woodward, Notre Dame - 10:11.48

Division 3 Girls
1600-meter run: Molly Seidel, University Lake School - 4:51.54
3200-meter run: Molly Seidel, University Lake School - 10:33.15
Pole Vault: Faryn Wirkus, Edgar - 11-7
Triple Jump: Bria Halama, Independence-Gilmanton - 38-5 - She became just the 17th girl in state history to win the same event four straight years, capturing the Triple Jump title once again. She also won her second consecutive Division
3 400-meter dash title. She has medaled in the 400 and 200 all four years.
Shot Put: Kennedy Blahnik, Algoma - 47-00.25
Discus: Kennedy Blahnik, Algoma - 150-7

Other State Track and Field Notes:

Pewaukee's Derek Watt won the D2 shot put, with older brother J.J., a first-round draft pick of the Houston Texans following a stellar season at Wisconsin, looking on. J.J. won the event back in 2007. Like J.J., Derek will play football for the Badgers next year.

On the strength of it's sprinters, Milwaukee Bradley Tech easily won a third straight Division 1 team title with 64 points; Wrightstown narrowly edged Nekoosa and Aquinas for the Division 2 title with 31 points; Edgar dominated Division 3 once again, scoring 108 points (they set an all-time record last year with 114 points).

Feel free to contact us with questions and/or comments.