107.5FM WCCN The Rock - The Coolest Station in the Nation
Memories 1370AM 98.5FM
98.7FM / 1450AM WDLB - Timeless Classics
Listen Live: 107.5 THE ROCK92.7 FM
Family owned radio stations serving all of Central Wisconsin

State Girls Basketball Tournament Crowns 5 Champions

Sunday, March 10th, 2024 -- 6:30 PM


Champions were crowned in five divisions at the 48th Annual State Girls Basketball Tournament Saturday at the Resch Center.

Top-seeded Arrowhead (27-3) pulled away at the end of the game to capture the Division 1 crown with a 69-59 victory over third-seeded Neenah (24-6) in the championship game.  Allie Ziebell poured in a game-high 35 points for Neenah, which gave her 75 points for the tournament. That ranks second-most since the tournament transitioned from a three-game Division 1 format to two games in 2011.  Arrowhead wins its third State title in 11 appearances in the tournament. Neenah finishes runner-up in its eighth experience at State.


The Division 2 title game featured the two teams that have squared off that past three years. Top-seeded Pewaukee turned the tables on second-seeded Notre Dame (28-2), the former three-time defending champion, with a 60-52 win in championship game.  Pewaukee wins its first title in its third experience playing in the tournament. The Pirates also qualified in 2020, but the tournament was cancelled because of the COVID-19 outbreak. Notre Dame finishes runner-up in its 11th appearance at State.


Top-seeded Edgewood (26-3) capitalized a strong second half to post a 55-52 victory over third-seeded Xavier (21-8) to win the Division 3 championship.  The Crusaders win the championship for the second time in their three State Tournament appearances, and the Hawks are runners-up in their third State experience.   


Top-seeded Laconia (28-2) won the Division 4 championship for the second straight season with a 47-43 win over third-seeded Cuba City (24-4) in the final.  Laconia won its second title in their fourth State Tournament appearance, and the Cubans finished runner-up in their membership-leading 17th experience.


In Division 5, fourth-seeded Albany/Monticello (27-3) claimed the title with a 57-54 overtime victory over second-seeded Lena (28-3) in the title game.  The Comets win the championship in the first year as co-op program, and Lena finishes runner-up in its fourth State appearance.


Final Scores and Statistics

Feel free to contact us with questions and/or comments.