107.5FM WCCN The Rock - The Coolest Station in the Nation
Memories 1370AM 98.5FM
98.7FM / 1450AM WDLB - Timeless Classics
Listen Live: 107.5 THE ROCK92.7 FM
Family owned radio stations serving all of Central Wisconsin

Edgar And Stratford Win State Football Titles

Friday, November 17th, 2023 -- 9:05 AM


Edgar (13-1) rolled to the Division 7 title with a 36-6 victory over Black Hawk/Warren, Ill. (12-2) in the championship final.

The Wildcats scored on their first two possessions of the game. Karter Butt ran to the first of his five touchdowns in the game on a 42-yard run to give Edgar an 8-0 lead following a successful two-point conversion. Butt added his second scoring run with a 4-yard jaunt to the left pylon for a 14-0 Edgar lead.

The Warriors cut their deficit to 14-6 with 15 seconds remaining in the second quarter on a 5-yard pass from Eli Schliem to Lane Marty. The two-point try failed.

Edgar scored on its first three possessions of the second half. Butt ran 29 yards to paydirt at 8:04 remaining in the third quarter, and then added another rushing touchdown from 20 yards out to extend the Wildcats’ lead to 29-6 with 3:50 to go in the third period. Butt capped the scoring on a 4-yard scamper at the 9:52 mark of fourth quarter.

The five rushing touchdowns for Butt set a Division 7 record. He carried the ball 19 times for 171 yards. Teegan Streit completed 1-of-3 passes for just three yards in the game. That toss went to Leyton Schuett. Butt also led the defense with a game-high 15 tackles and an interception.

Owen Seffrood led the Warrior offense with 96 yards rushing, and Marty added 65 yards on the ground. Schleim completed 4-of-7 passes for 27 yards and a touchdown. Bryce VanRaalte caught two passes for a game-high 11 yards. Marty and Schleim also led the defense with eight tackles apiece, and Marty added an interception.

Edgar wins its eighth State championship in the Wildcats’ membership leading 14th State championship game appearance. Black Hawk/Warren, Ill. finishes runner-up in its second experience as a co-op.


Stratford (13-1) edged Darlington (12-2) 10-7 with a 32-yard field goal on an untimed play to win the Division 6 State championship.

Laurenz Plattner, who had a 24-yard field goal attempt blocked with 23 seconds to play in the game, made good on his second opportunity. On the third play of the ensuing Redbirds’ drive following the blocked field goal, the Tigers recovered of fumble and returned it to the Darlington 25-yard line with six seconds remaining. A defensive penalty moved the ball to the Darlington 15-yard line to set up Plattner’s heroics on the final play of the game. It was his first successful field goal of the season.

After a scoreless first quarter, Darlington started the scoring on a Reagan Jackson 5-yard run up the middle with 5:01 remaining in the first half. The Redbirds held the 7-0 advantage until Koehler Kilty sprinted nine yards to the right edge of the end zone to tie the game at 7-7.

The events the led to the late-game dramatics was set up by a 22-play, 85-yard drive that consumed 11:27 of the fourth quarter, which set Division 5 records for the most plays and time elapsed in a drive.

The defensive struggle was reflected in the score and total yardage in the game. Stratford outgained Darlington 195-102 in total offense. Kilty led all ball carriers with 85 yards on 25 carries. Jack Tubbs gained 45 yards rushing and completed 5-of-7 passes for 44 yards. Gavin Leonhardt and Jett Schoenherr each had three catches for 23 and 21 yards, respectively. Stratford was led on defense by Alec Chapel and Leonhardt with eight tackles apiece. Chapel also recovered the fumble forced by Cole Tichy late in the game to set-up the game winning scenario.

Reagan Jackson led the Redbirds on offense with 43 yards rushing. Breylin Goebel rushed for 33 yards and was 0-for-2 passing in the game. Jackson and Talan Crist led the defense with nine tackles apiece.

Stratford wins the championship for the second straight season and for the ninth time in the program’s history, which ties St. Mary’s Springs for the most titles among the membership. The Tigers have now played in 11 championship games. Darlington finishes runner-up in its 13th State experience.


Also on Thursday:

Lodi (14-0) capped an undefeated season with a 38-14 triumph over Luxemburg-Casco (13-1) in the Division 4 championship game.

Aquinas (13-1) won its third straight State championship in Division 5 with a 32-13 win over Wrightstown (11-3) in the final.

Feel free to contact us with questions and/or comments.