107.5FM WCCN The Rock - The Coolest Station in the Nation
Memories 1370AM 98.5FM
98.7FM / 1450AM WDLB - Timeless Classics
Listen Live: 107.5 THE ROCK92.7 FM
Family owned radio stations serving all of Central Wisconsin

Neillsville Booster Club Boys Basketball Tournament Results

Tuesday, February 7th, 2023 -- 8:22 AM

The Neillsville Booster Club held their annual “Youth Boys Basketball Tournament” on Sunday, February 5th with a record 34 area teams participating.  Fifty-three games were contested throughout the day with the following champions noted.

In the youngest  bracket of the day, 3rd/4th grade, the champion was Phillips who edged out the local boys 20-19 in a thrilling championship game. Members of the local team, coached by Mike Gaier included: Lucus Luchterhand, Gordy Gaier, Garret Ehlen, Hayden Poeschel, Tripp Laufenberg, Blake Knudsen, Gavin Simpson, Corbin Wirkuty & Rylen Hart. Rounding out the bracket was Spencer, Wisconsin Rapids, Auburndale, Marshfield Black, Marshfield Orange and the Eau Claire Huskies. 

In the 5th grade division, first place was captured by Bloomer with Spencer garnering silver followed by Fall Creek in third and Rib Lake in fourth place. Auburndale grabbed the consolation championship with a win over Thorp, while Loyal, Neillsville, Colby and Granton rounded out   the field. The hometown boys went 1-3 on the day. The team coached by Ryan Dillenbeck included: Cam Dillenbeck, Kalvin Heck, Patrick Hausauer, Alex Thomas, Lucas Blastic, Jett & Mason Schultz, Joseph Slemec, Jesse Backaus & Evin Dittner.

In the 6th grade bracket, four teams competed for the championship with Altoona taking down the Eau Claire Huskies for the gold medals, Neillsville finished 3rd  dropping Loyal into the bottom spot.  Members of the 6th grade Neillsville team who are coached by Duane King include: Keagan Ormond, Jace Pederson, Joseph Slemec,  Bentley & Kyson  Erickson, Eli Rossman, Gavin Wampole, Preston Bare, Tevyn Heiman and Max Koepp.

In the 7th grade portion of the tourney, eight quality teams fought for supremacy. The Eau Claire Huskies reigned supreme followed by Marshfield, Rib Lake, Eau Claire Shamrocks, Colby, Bloomer, Neillsville and Loyal. The local boys, coached by Kevin Langreck, Jeff Hart and Josh Lewis included: Landon Rakestraw, Kyle Langreck, Carson Calkins, Ethan Funston, Zeb Schultz, Trevor Hart, Adam Hoeser and Andrew Volosek.

In the eldest group of competition, the 8th grade bracket, the Eau Claire Shamrocks grabbed gold followed by Loyal, Eau Claire Huskies and the Warrior boys. Members of the Nsv. squad, coached by Adam Luchterhand include: Tommy Molinaro, Axel Pumper, Micah Ziebell, Landin Slemec, Liam King, Zion Jones and Marcus Luchterhand.

The tournament, sponsored by the Booster Club was conducted with a tremendous amount of volunteer help and all proceeds are used to support youth sports at Neillsville schools.

Feel free to contact us with questions and/or comments.