107.5FM WCCN The Rock - The Coolest Station in the Nation
Memories 1370AM 98.5FM
98.7FM / 1450AM WDLB - Timeless Classics
Listen Live: 107.5 THE ROCK92.7 FM
Family owned radio stations serving all of Central Wisconsin

Former Broadcaster with WDLB to be Inducted into Wisconsin Broadcaster Association's Hall of Fame

Friday, March 24th, 2023 -- 8:01 AM


A former broadcaster with WDLB will be inducted into the Wisconsin Broadcasters Hall of Fame.

Bob Meyer’s competitive public speaking experience through elementary and high school led to him pursuing a career in radio. Starting with a three-year stint in the mid 1970’s, Meyer returned to WDLB-WLJY in Marshfield in 1986 as assistant farm director.

Later that year he began a 30-year run as the morning drive announcer on WDLB-AM. With that, Meyer became co-host of the Goetz Farm Radio Network’s morning farm show Daybreak. In 1987 he was named Program Director for WDLB.

In 1991, Meyer became Farm Director for the Goetz Farm Radio Network. Over the following decade, GFRN increased its program offerings and its affiliate list to cover the state of Wisconsin.

In 2003, GFRN was acquired by Learfield Communications; as a part of Brownfield Ag News, Meyer could now be heard on more than 350 stations in ten states. During his long career, he conducted more than 20,000 interviews with newsmakers and people of interest in agriculture.

Meyer has served on numerous boards and committees for organizations including Wisconsin Farm Technology Days and the Professional Dairy Producers of Wisconsin. His continued support of the FFA garnered him the Honorary American FFA Degree. For 30 years he has been “the voice” of the annual Wisconsin State FFA Convention.

The Wisconsin Broadcasters Hall of Fame was created in 1989 to honor broadcasters that have devoted a minimum of 15 years to the broadcasting industry including a minimum of 10 years as a Wisconsin broadcaster.

The award recognizes an individual’s history of exemplary leadership in community and statewide service as a broadcast professional. The first 12 members of the Hall of Fame were inducted during the 1989 WBA Summer Conference.

Since 1989, 156 outstanding broadcasters have been honored with Hall of Fame inductions. Inductees are chosen each year from nominations by WBA members, family members and friends.

Broadcasters who have been inducted into the Hall of Fame include managers, personalities, engineers, reporters, educators and those broadcasting pioneers who were all of the above. Farmers across Wisconsin know Bob Meyer for his booming voice and dedication to agriculture.

The 2023 Hall of Fame honorees will be celebrated June 15 at the 2023 Summer Conference at the Osthoff Resort in Elkhart Lake.

Feel free to contact us with questions and/or comments.