Listen Live
Download Apps Download on the App Store Get it on Google Play
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Instagram

Chatty Belle - The World's Largest Talking Cow

State Softball Tournament Preview: Division 2
Thursday, June 6th, 2019 -- 12:52 pm
Posted by Larry Hoeser, Sports Director

The 44th Annual Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association State Softball Tournament is going on today thru Saturday at Goodman Diamond on the University of Wisconsin campus in Madison. Here's a preview of the Division 2 Field....

LAST YEAR: Whitnall won the Division 2 title by downing Mosinee 3-1 in the final.

Semifinals - Friday, June 7
Game-1: #2 Seymour (24-1) vs. #3 Ellsworth (24-2) - 2:30 p.m.
Game-2: #1 Monroe (22-4) vs. #4 New Berlin West (22-3) - 4:30 p.m.*

Championship - Saturday, June 8
Game-3: Winner of Game 1 vs. Winner of Game 2 - 4 p.m.

THE DIVISION 2 FIELD: Top-seeded Monroe is making its eighth appearance at State and its first since 2013. The Cheesemakers won the Division 2 title in 2003 and have finished runner-up four times, including 2004, 2008, 2009 and 2012. They are the co-champions of the Badger Conference’s South Division with Watertown this spring, and they edged McFarland 4-3 in the final to win the Evansville Sectional title. Seymour, the #2 seed, is a first-time qualifier to the State Tournament. The Thunder earned their initial berth following a 13-7 win over Winneconne in the Wrightstown Sectional final. The Thunder are the champions of the Bay Conference this season. Third-seeded Ellsworth also advances to the State Tournament for the first time in program history. The Panthers are the champions of the Middle Border Conference this spring. They are the representatives out of the Baldwin-Woodville Sectional following a 4-1 victory over Merrill in the final. Fourth-seeded New Berlin West advances to the State semifinals for the third time. In the Viking’s previous two appearances, they won the State title in 2016 and lost in the semifinals in 2013. They are back in the State Tournament following a 12-10 slugfest over Kettle Moraine Lutheran in the Plymouth Sectional final. The Vikings are the champions in the Woodland Conference in 2019.

Copyright © 2019 | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use