Listen Live
Download Apps Download on the App Store Get it on Google Play
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Instagram

Chatty Belle - The World's Largest Talking Cow

Neillsville Booster Club Youth Basketball Tournament Results
Monday, March 12th, 2018 -- 1:22 pm
Posted by Larry Hoeser, Sports Director

The Neillsville Booster Club held their annual Girl’s Youth Basketball Tournament on Sunday, March 11th. Twenty 5th-8th grade teams from around Central Wisconsin competed in the tournament.

Placing first in the 5th grade division was the hometown Neillsville Warriors as they completed the day with a perfect 3-0 record. The Osseo-Fairchild Thunder grabbed the silver medals with Spencer and Alma Center rounding out the bracket. Members of their squad who were coached by Al Schoengarth, Jenna Ehlen & Butch Subke included: Gracie Schoengarth, Kaylee Lawrence, Sydney Subke, Shylah Walk, Kenadi Urban, Karli Gross, Kelti Schoen, Sophie Hanson, Olivia Hahn & Tyla Uptergrove.

In the 6th grade division the local squad again captured the championship with a perfect 3-0 record. Members of the team, who were coached by Jon Harris and Sunni Opelt included: Jada Gurney, Sella Anderson, Nataly Harris, Paris & Lilly Opelt, Paige Voigt, Addison Anderson, Cali Moseid, Olivia Kopreck, Abby Koepp, and Amelia Warren. The silver medals were won by Bangor, with Greenwood and Augusta rounding out the bracket.

In the 7th grade division, the girls from Osseo-Fairchild reigned as the champion with Neillsville picking up second place honors. The Warriors who are coached by Ron Trunkel and Ricky Rochester include: Delaney Rochester, Vicki Ratsch, Amelia Trunkel, Callee Mohr, Lainey Horn, Miranda Mijal, Mackenzie Hediger and Kayla Verch. Picking up third place was the Spencer Rockets with the Greenwood Indians finishing in fourth place.

In the 8th grade division, the champion was Wisconsin Rapids Lincoln, with Onalaska taking home the silver medals. Placing third was Osseo-Fairchild with Eleva Strum garnering fourth place. The local squad reached the championship of the consolation bracket but came up just short in a battle with Colfax. Members of the Warrior team, who were coached by Travis Mortenson and Jenna Ehlen included: Emma Moseley, Kati Mayer, Skylar Hart, Kylie Boyer, Amanda Schneider, Lauren Langreck, Ava Mortenson, and Courtney Oldham. Completing the bracket were Spencer and Greenwood.

In the daylong competition, thirty games were contested. The Booster Club would like to thank the many volunteers who helped officiate, scorekeep, take tickets or work the concession stand. All proceeds are used to support youth sports at Neillsville schools.

Copyright © 2019 | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use